8/16/15 – 5 Weeks Out – ME Upper

Today’s session was very successful to say the least. I was able to train at the corec for the first time in a long time and on top of that, I was joined by a few fellow members of the Purdue Barbell Club. It is always nice to have friends around while lifting and it made today’s training that much better. The day looked like this.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • Bar x15, 95×5, 135×5, 185×3, 225×3, 275×3, 315×2 (Opener), 325×1 (Second), 345×2 (2 Board, Third)
  • Close Grip, 2 Board Bench Press
    • 225×3, 275×3, 295×3, 315×3
  • Dips – 3 sets (20, 15, 12)
  • Tricep Presdowns – 4×15
  • Fat Bar Curls – 4×10
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×10

I was planning on making my second attempt at bench closer to 335 but struggled with my opener at 315 for a double. Looking back I should have went ahead and put the extra 10lbs on the bar because 325 went up like nothing. Bench is definitely the lift with the most room for improvement for me but I feel more comfortable with it each week. Now that I’m back on campus full time, training should become more consistent as far as time and days go. I look forward to more great training days surrounded by my teammates in the coming weeks. Until Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

