8/15/15 – 5 Weeks Out – ME Lower

I chose to hit another morning training session today although I didn’t get to the weight room until 8 this time. This allowed me to train at the high school and get on the deadlift platform. This session did not take very long at all and the weights moved fast. I am feeling healthy and ready for meet day. Training broke down as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Squat
    • Bar x15, 135×5, 225×5, 315×3, 405×2, 425×2, 450×2 (Reverse Band)
  • Deadlift
    • 135×5, 225×3, 315×3, 405×3, 455×2, 475×2, 500×2 (Block Pull)
  • Close Stance Front Squat
    • 135×15, 185×15, 225×10
  • Leg Extension
    • 100×15, 112.5×15, 125×10
  • Ab Rollouts – 4×10

These simple sessions can get a little dry after a while but it will pay off in the long run. Brandon does a good job of throwing in some different movements here and there to keep me on my toes but the emphasis on the big three lifts is starting to become very evident. Although it can get monotonous doing the main lift with sub-maximal weight, it does give me time to really get my technique dialed in and play around with some small tweeks to improve the movements. I will be officially back to campus starting tomorrow and plan on hitting heavy bench with the previous Purdue Barbell president Renea. Until then!

Leave a Reply

