8/4/15 – 7 Weeks Out – DE Lower

Another dynamic effort day in the books for lower body and it went very well. I felt very explosive today especially with squats which have traditionally lacked for me in that area. The best thing I have done this summer for my training is tweek the way I do speed work to get the most out of it. I highly recommend watching every Westside Barbell video with Louie Simmons you can if you want to learn the purpose behind speed work. Although I was not necessarily doing anything wrong I was able to pick up some tips which I feel have really sped up my progress with explosive power.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat
    • 205x7x2
  • Speed Deadlift
    • 305x5x1
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 3×10
  • Seated Leg Extension  – 3×15
  • Laying Leg Curl – 3×10
  • Russian Twists – 3×10

During this meet prep program, my DE lower days are definitely the easiest from a workload standpoint. I was thinking about this earlier today and remembered something that I learned early on in my transition to competitive powerlifting training. I learned that a workout is only as hard as you make it. This may seem simple but it took my thick skull quite a while to figure it out. Nowadays, hearing people talk about a workout being too simple or easy is a pet peave of mine. If you leave the gym without feeling that you put everything you had into the session then you have no one to blame but yourself. Now I will say, there are times to back off and let yourself recover but you should not be spending a majority of you time doing this to say the least. Before powerlifting, when I was lifting for size, if I was not tired I would just throw in more movements until I was satisfied. Nowadays, with a set program, I have learned a few things that allow me to control the tempo and get the most out of my training.

  • Use warm up sets on the main movements to add volume to the session and practice technique.
  • Control the rest time between sets of speed work (30-45 seconds approx. with a 1 minute break halfway through the sets)
  • Hit a couple warm-up sets on movements other than the main movement. You won’t need to include near as many as you would for squat, bench, or deadlift but a couple warm-up sets will do wonders for adding to a session.
  • Take a chapter out of the bodybuilders playbook when it comes to accessory movements.Use slow concentric portions, held contractions, and partial reps.
  • If a set is supposed to include AS MANY REPS AS POSSIBLE then try doing AS MANY REPS AS POSSIBLE. This may seem common sense but I see people quitting early all the time and then cannot understand why they are making gains. This has more to do with will power than anything but that is a topic for a different log entry.

To wrap things up, today could have very well been an overly easy training session. I could have gone through the motions and gotten out of the gym without even a burn in my legs. That is not how I operate though and I chose to push intensity so that it was challenging. Today was not the hardest day in the gym I’ve had but it was very successful and that was done by choice. My choice. Today, my workout was as hard as I chose to make it.

Leave a Reply

