8/2/15 – 7 Weeks Out – ME Upper

Moving Max Effort work to the weekend days has been a huge success so far. Even being my third day in a row training again, my bench workout today felt great. My elbow still has an ache that creeps up during heavy work but it is much more manageable now and does not have a negative effect on the training session. I even ended up getting a nice chest and arm pump by the end of the session which is a great bonus to any workout. The session went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • Bar x15, 135×5, 185×5, 225×3, 275x2x3
  • Reverse Band, 2 Board, Close Grip Bench Press
    • 225×3, 275×3, 315×3, 365×3
  • Dips – 3 Sets (20, 14, 11)
  • Band Pressdowns (vs. Light Band) – 50 Reps
  • Band Flys (vs. Mini Bands) – 50 Reps
  • Dumbbell Hammer Curls – 3×10
  • Crunch Machine 4×10

I ramped up my bench set percentage this week on my way to hitting openers and seconds in the coming weeks. My explosive strength on the bench has always been an Achilles heel for me but this go-round feels much better than meet preps past. I followed straight bench with some reverse band, close grip work to a two board. I enjoy doing overload work and getting to put more weight on the bar then I usually am able to. I am beginning my final week of work for the summer so the coming school semester and its attached responsibilities are starting to come around. I am greatly looking forward to getting back to school, training with the team, leading my house on campus, and crushing another semester of classes. Everything is setting up to be a great year and I’m ready to dive into it.

Leave a Reply

