7/31/15 – 8 Weeks Out – DE Upper

Today was the first session in what will be another three day training binge. The good news is that after this weekend I will officially have my training sessions lined up with the days I will train with the team when we return to school. The session went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench (vs. Elitefts Mini Band)
    • 135x8x3
  • Dumbbell Overhead Press
    • 50×10, 60×10, 70×10
  • Wide Grip Pull-Ups – 2×13
  • Chest Supported Rows
    • 50×15, 50×15, 55×15
  • Barbell DOH Shrugs
    • 135×15, 185×15, 205×15
  • Dumbbell Skulls
    • 70×15, 80×15, 85×15
  • EZ Bar Preacher Bench Curls – 3×15
  • Hanging Leg Raises – 4×10

I am excited to have my max effort training days on the weekend this semester. Hopefully, this will allow me to focus completely on the training the days with minimal distraction and time constraints.

On a different note, I have started cleaning up my carb sources following training. After my week of dietary debauchery while on vacation, doing a low carb week crossed my mind a few times but I think I will opt to simply clean up carb sources and reduce my refeeds instead. I plan on cutting out carbs in the last week or two out from the meet depending on my weight anyway so doing a low carb week now is pointless. It is funny how much worse you feel when eating poorly if you have had a solid diet for a long time. There was a time when I could eat junk food all day and not notice a thing but now I can’t stand the bloated and regretful feeling of eating dirty. Tomorrow will be heavy squat and deadlift followed by bench on Sunday. The meet will be here before I know it and I WILL be ready.

Leave a Reply

