5/17/15 – Week 6, Day 4 – DE Upper

Well that’s that. Another off-season is in the books and will not come around again until late September. I can truthfully say that I have pushed my body further that ever before and I can feel it. I have never felt so ready to take a rest week and I plan on using it very wisely to make sure I am prepared for meet prep when I return from vacation. Here is what my final off-season training session looked like.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench (vs. Elitefts Mini Bands)
    • 175x6x3, 210×5, 240×3, 265×2
  • Arnold Press
    • 50×15,55×15, 60×10
  • Chest Supported Dumbbell Row
    • 50×10, 55x4x10
  • Lat. Raises – 3×12
  • Decline JM Press – 4×20
  • Hanging Leg Raises – 4×10
  • Cable Bicep Curls – 3×15
  • Face Pulls – 4×10

Right now I just feel wrecked. I have some nagging soreness that has settled in these last couple weeks that I hope goes away with some rest. Looking back, 12 weeks straight of all out lifting may have been a little too much at once but it is over now and I can rest and refocus. At week 10 of this cycle I was still feeling alright but starting with week 11 I really started to feel worn out. These last two weeks have taken a toll and I don’t mind having some down time.

I will have access to a weight room on the cruise but I don’t see myself getting in there until at least Monday. Knowing me I will be in there by Sunday morning but I’m going to try not to push it. I have the tendency to go a little overboard during my deload weeks with the bodybuilding style work so I have made myself a little set of guidelines to follow to ensure I get ample recovery.

1. No barbells, everything must be done with dumbbells, cable machines, or bodyweight.

2. No sets shall be less than 10 reps. This may seem backwards but I want to make sure I don’t do anything too heavy.

3. No more than 3 sets per exercise.

4. Workouts are to last no longer than an hour and a half. This includes warming up and any stretching.

I will not be posting next week as I will have no internet. I will try to give a brief rundown of what I did during the week once I return and start my meet prep. I’m officially 9 weeks out from the meet. The strength work has been put in, now its time to tighten up form, work on making weight, and taper down to meet day. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

