7/9/15 – Week 5, Day 3 – DE Lower

My weird week of training continued today with a rather slow speed day. I guess it probably isn’t as bad as I think it is but I did have to dial it back. If you follow my log you know that I skipped my last deload week so that my deload would align with my family vacation. Although in the long run this will work out for the best, my body is currently punishing me for this decision. I am currently in my 11th straight week of heavy offseason training and I really noticed the wear and tear this week. With five days of training left before a week of rest, I am definitely dragging. On top of this, I had backed down on carbs again this week as I approach 250lbs. This all hit me in the teeth today and forced me to dig really deep to find the power to make it through the session today.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Light Band)
    • 215x8x2, 225×3, 255×3, 285×8
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Light Band)
    • 300x6x1
  • Bulgarian Split Squat
    • 60x3x10
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 4×10

I was supposed to do lat pull-downs and planks as well today but after my glute-ham raises I knew that it was best to push those movements to tomorrow. I could tell that I had pulled back on the carbs too far today by how foggy and lethargic my brain felt today. As soon as I got home from the gym this evening I loaded up on a solid meal of carbs and will get after it tomorrow to make up my ground. All that is left after tomorrow is a max out on deadlift, close grip bench, and a good speed day for lower and upper. Vacation cannot come fast enough. I will be sure to update on how the big carb meal tonight effects training tomorrow. Experimenting is half the fun! Until then!

Leave a Reply

