7/7/15 – Week 5, Day 2 – ME Upper

Today was kind of a weird day. I actually started this training day on Monday and made it through my bench press work before calling it quits early. There is something wrong with my elbow and after working up to my new bench max yesterday, I knew I wouldn’t be able to continue. Today, I was put in the position of deciding what to do in order to get my work in that I missed yesterday. I ended up going to the gym later this evening, warming up on bench to about 275, feeling out the elbow situation (it hurt but not unbearably like yesterday), and then hit the supplementary/accessory work that I missed. I guess you could say that this was the bench day that took 2 days to finish.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • Bar x2x5, 95×5, 135×5, 185×3, 225×1, 275×1, 315×1, 335×1
    • 315×2, 285×5
  • Close Grip Floor Press
    • 225×10, 245×6, 245×6
  • Dumbbell Bench
    • 100×20, 120×15, 140×10
  • Cable Rows
    • 160×20, 170×15, 180×10, 190×10, 200×10
  • Dumbbell Curls – 3×10
  • Tricep Pressdowns – 4×20
  • Reverse GHR Abs – 2×21’s

I do not think that the elbow pain is anything serious. I have had some small aches with it in the past and I believe that my recently lowered bar position on squat coupled with a demanding training session such as Sunday just pushed it over the edge. I am thinking possibly a pulled tendon may be to blame but I will keep an eye on it and work around it as necessary. Just a small bump in the road, no reason to let it throw me off track.

On a positive note, I did set a new bench max at 335. This is much less then I feel I could have done but the pain in my arm really got to my head so I shut it down early and got my back down sets in. From a strength standpoint, If I would have been 100%, I would have taken another jump to 345 or 355 no problem. In hind sight, I am glad I quit when I did and avoided possible breakdown and injury. 335 will give me at least a starting point on where to set my opener going into meet prep which can always be adjusted. There is no point in hitting an absolute max yet anyway, I will save that for September.

Leave a Reply

