6/24/15 – Week 3, Day 3 – DE Lower

Today was a special day of training for me because I was able to return to Pioneer High School and train in the weight room where my journey began. I have always favored this weight room. I’m not sure if it is because I feel comfortable there or because it is such a complete gym, probably a combination of the two. Either way, I had a great session and feel like my speed days are becoming more productive as of late. Training looked like this today.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (to box 2″ below parallel)
    • 275x6x2, 275×5, 305×3, 330×7
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. EliteFTS Light Band)
    • 320x4x1
  • Step Ups
    • 45×10, 95×10, 115×10
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 4×10
  • Pull Ups – 1×15, 2×10
  • Face Pulls – 4×15
  • Weighted Planks – 3x30sec

For a little over a year, I have been realizing just how terrible I am at the squat. Comparatively, it is my worst lift by far and therefore has been a pain in my behind. This summer, however, I have been using my free time to study up on the squat and see what the best course of action is to fix this problem. At the very root of the problem, I really just need time under the bar. Since switching to powerlifting, I have realized that when I was training for football I was allowed to squat high (at least compared to the expectation of depth in powerlifting, especially USAPL). This gave me a false sense of progress with this movement and has also made me very weak in the bottom of a full, competition squat.

Pioneer Weight Room 1

Put very simply, I am weak in the hamstring and glute region. I am continually frustrated with my squats but at the same time I realize that I just have to work at it like I have with everything else. There is no special exercise to fix the problem other then time under the bar and quality reps. Obviously there is accessory work that will help bring up my weak points but learning a proper “groove” is very important for me right now. Don’t get me wrong, I am seeing improvement especially since my last meet in February but it is always a work in progress. I feel stronger than ever right now and am really starting to get excited for my next meet.

Pioneer Weight Room 2

I plan on training at Pioneer again this Friday for DE Upper and look forward to another good session. Until then!

Leave a Reply

