6/22/15 – Week 3, Day 2 – ME Upper

I went into today really wanting to beat my three rep max from two weeks ago which was 315. I warmed up thoroughly, hitting plenty of sets and reps but the weight just wasn’t happening today. One positive things I noticed today was that my first rep on my sets, especially the sets over 275, felt really solid. This leads me to believe that part of my issue is losing tightness after that first rep. Either way, the truth will be known in two weeks when I hit a PR single on the bench and see what my one rep max actually is. 315 did feel easier then the last time I took it but when I ground out the 3rd rep I knew bumping up another few pounds wasn’t worth the risk. The rest of training went smoothly and looked like this.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • Bar x15, 95×5, 135×5, 185×5, 225×5, 275×3, 295×3, 315×3
    • 225×3, 255×3, 285×5
  • Close Grip Floor Press
    • 225×10, 235×8, 245×6
  • Dumbbell Bench Press
    • 130×20, 140×13, 150×12
  • Chest Supported Dumbbell Rows
    • 70×20, 80×20, 90×18, 100×15, 110×13
  • Hammer Curls
    • 30×12, 35×10, 40×8
  • JM Press
    • 95×20, 105×20, 115×13, 125×10
  • Hanging Leg Raises – 4×10

I say stretch and warm-up at the beginning of each training log, but what does that mean? Well, for right now, it honestly depends on the day. I tend not to static stretch all that much on training days, I usually do that more so on cardio days or at home after a session with my soft tissue work (foam rolling). The amount of conflicting information on proper warm-ups for strength training is ridiculous. On one end of the spectrum you have the old-school guys who claim that the best warm-up for squat is to “nut up and get under the bar” while on the other end you have the new age, online guru who claims that a half hour sweat and meditation session is needed to properly activate the body (I’m exaggerating but you get the idea). I have come to find that the truth usually lies somewhere in between and is largely based on personal needs. I have very tight hips and hamstrings so I use static stretches for those to avoid a muscle tear and allow myself to get into the right position. On the other hand, my shoulders and chest are not near as tight but I have some pain issues there so I make sure to do some band work during my warm-ups for those. I adjust it as needed and rarely do the exact same thing every time I enter the gym. I just noticed today that I have never really explained what falls under my interpretation of “stretch and warm-up” and thought it might be a nice little addition. If nothing else I can always look back a year from now and wonder what the hell I was thinking. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

