6/20/15 – Week 3, Day 1 – ME Lower

I traveled to Terre Haute today to squat heavy with my coach and I must say, it was well worth the trip. I had planned on hitting straight bar, competition style squats but decided to hit the Yoke bar with Brandon and make things easier for the training crew. After hitting warm-ups and getting into the monolift (thank goodness), I hit a PR with the EliteFTS SS Yoke Bar. Brandon also had some equipment such as a reverse hyper machine which I was able to use. This was a nice change from my usual ME Lower day routine. The rest of my training looked like this.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Squat (Using 65lb SSB)
    • Bar x15, 115×10, 155×10, 205×5, 245×3, 295×3, 335×3, 385×1, 405×1, 425×1, 445×1
    • 380×3, 340×6
  • Wide Stance Paused Squat (Using 65lb SSB)
    • 245×10, 265×7, 295×6
  • Good Mornings 
    • Barx2x20
  • Reverse Hypers – 3×10
  • Pulldown Abs (Using EliteFTS mini band) 4×10

Today’s session had a much lower level of volume then what I usually get in but a majority of that is due to increased time/emphasis on my squatting. I wanted to take advantage of having my coach, who happens to hold a world record in the squat, there to give me advice and push me. Squats have always been my weak point and although this can be frustrating, I have been blessed with an army of professionals who have been able to help me develop a strategy to change that. Hitting 445 with the Yoke bar was a huge success for me today. My PR in a meet on the squat is 446lbs and the Yoke bar is even more difficult to use than the competition bar. In two weeks I will test my max with the straight bar and look forward to hitting a big new PR which I can use going in to my next meet.

Leave a Reply

