6/14/15 – Week 2, Day 1 – ME Lower

I moved my maximum effort deadlift day forward to today anticipating a busy week and the need for a focused session. I am very happy with the results of that decision and, as you’ll see, I was able to hit PR numbers in the end. Training today went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Sumo Deadlift
    • Bar x10, 135×5, 225×5, 275×3, (added belt) 315×3, 365×3, 405×3, 455×3, 475×3, 495×3
    • 315×5, 375×5, 420×5
  • Conventional Deadlift (2″ deficit)
    • 225×5, 245×5, 275
  • Front Squat (to box, 2″ below parallel)
    • 185×12, 205×10, 225×8
  • Glute/Ham Raise – 4×20
  • T-Spine Extension (w/ pause on GHR machine) – 3×20
  • Hanging Oblique Leg Raises – 3×20

My coach, Brandon Smitley, posted on facebook today with a post about a topic that I really enjoy thinking about. This particular topic is the idea of an ever evolving training philosophy and adaptation. Any elite powerlifter, bodybuilder, weightlifter, etc… knows what works best for them and have always tweeked things about their training throughout their career to get them where they are today. Another things these men and women have in common is the fact that they are open to change and are not ignorant enough to think that they already know everything there is to know about the human body or its training. One of the worst things you can do as a strength athlete is get complacent with where you are and never look for new and better ways to challenge yourself. I know for a fact I have barely scratched the surface of what there is to know about training and how to optimize my routine to fit my needs. I love learning and watching my training evolve as a result of this. For me, that is half the fun and the results are all gravy.

Embrace your strength, eliminate your weakness. Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

