6/12/15 – Week 1, Day 4 – DE Upper

Well that one week down already, these cycles just seem to fly by especially over this summer while I work full time. I can’t imagine what going back to four week programs would be like! Anyway, today was short and sweet. I still don’t have bands for my speed work so I have just been adding a little more weight and really focusing on explosive movement on my DE days.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench
    • 155x9x3
  • Close Grip Bench
    • 185×5, 205×5, 225×12
  • Overhead Press
    • 135×10, 145×10, 145×10
  • Cable Row
    • 140×20, 160×20, 180×15, 200×10
  • Over and Back Overhead Press
    • 50×20, 70×10, 90×10
  • Tricep Pulldowns
    • 70×20, 90×20, 100×15, 120×10
  • Weighted Situps – 3×10

I intentionally backed off my spplementary work today because during my training session I was planning on hitting heavy deadlifts with Brandon tomorrow in Terre Haute. After checking the weather and seeing how my body felt today (I lifted today and yesterday) I opted to cancel those plans, take my off day tomorrow, and avoid a three day lifting streak. I always end up regretting going more than two days straight as far as resistance training is concerned because my workouts get sloppy and I lack intensity. I really want to have a great, heavy deadlift day and think that taking tomorrow off will definitely help out.

As an updated, operation 250 has been stalled at 256. I am not overly concerned with this as of yet because I can see that I am dropping fat and gaining muscle still. It is much too early in my career to disallow muscle growth just to drop weight. I will still be 242 in September, I have plenty of time and I am carrying a ton of water weight right now especially on high carb nights/morning after. For now, I am going to continue to have a solid diet, slowly drop the extra fat, and let the gains continue as long as I can. Until Sunday probably, possibly Monday!

Leave a Reply

