6/8/15 – Week 1, Day 1 – ME Lower (and my cardio experiment)

Welcome to the marathon training cycle 2015. As you probably know, today I started my second 6 week training program in a row and I was surprisingly energetic for this one. I am glad I chose to forego the deload week and continue forward with my offseason training. Hopefully this pays off in September going into the meet. Squat training went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Squat
    • Bar x10, 135×5, 185×5, 225×5, 275×3, (Added Belt) 315×3, 365×3, 385×3, 405×3
    • 265×5, 305×5, 345×7
  • Paused, Wide Stance Squat
    • 225×7, 245×6, 275×6
  • RDL
    • 185×12, 205×12 ,225×10
  • Seated Leg Curl
    • 135×20, 165×20, 185×15, 215×12
  • T-Spine Extension – 3×12
  • Russian Twists – 4×15

Today was the first day I have had a traditional squat bar on my back for a max effort day since my meet last February. In all honesty, I had no idea what to expect today in terms of weight I can handle. 405 felt slightly heavier than I would have liked but my form felt much tighter than it has in the past. As I have mentioned I have been reading a lot of EliteFTS articles lately and many of them have been on squatting technique. I try to run through the movement in my head whenever I think about it so that I can get a mental picture of what the lift should feel like. this has carried over into my heavy work itself and although there is a ton of work to do yet, I can see subtle improvements in proficiency almost every training session.

The auxiliary work in this new program I am running is slightly different than the last program I was running. The volume and splits are the same however the movements are a little different and noticeable. On a positive note, today was the first day that I have come home from the gym without a tight lower back in ages, probably since I was in meet prep with reduced volume in January. I think that my increased emphasis on stretching and foam rolling has really improved my ability to get into the correct lifting positions without putting stress on my lower back. I will definitely be continuing these efforts.

Cardio Experimentation and Operation 250

If you have been following my log you know that I am in the middle of a slight change in training. Although I am not changing my lifting volumes or splits, I am cleaning up my diet and throwing in some small cardio sessions as I start to cut down to 250 for the end of summer. I weighed in at 256.7 this morning and felt light yet energetic. I also have restarted following the supplementation protocol for carb-backloading which basically means I am adding MCT oil into my protein shakes and utilizing Leucine during mealtimes. It is a little more complicated than that but for now that is the basis of it. I hope that you will continue following my progress as I settle in for the home stretch toward my next meet on September 19th. As for cardio, I will be doing some short HIIT sessions on Wednesdays and Saturdays to taste until I get a feel for what I can handle while still recovering properly. I did a little cardio session this past weekend but did not feel it called for a post of its own because I basically just tested my conditioning to see where I was. Honestly I was happy with my cardio abilities but that does not mean that I am anywhere near where I should be. Oh well, you gotta do what you suck at until you don’t suck no more. Until tomorrow!

One thought on “6/8/15 – Week 1, Day 1 – ME Lower (and my cardio experiment)

Leave a Reply

