5/28/15 – Week 5, Day 3 – DE Lower

The speed work for the week has begun and it started very well. During my training session today I really felt things come together and can tell some small changes I have made are paying off. Training today went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squats (To Box)
    • 245x8x2, 245×5, 290×3, 305×6
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. EliteFTS Light Band)
    • 305x6x1
  • Bulgarian Split Squats
    • 80×10, 90×10, 100×10
  • Band Goodmornings (EliteFTS Light and Mini Band)
    • 4×20 (really pushed my hips back, controlled downward, explosive upward)
  • Lat Pulldowns
    • 130×20, 140×20, 150×13
  • Smith Machine Shrugs
    • 225x3x10
  • Planks – 3×60 seconds

As I said, I have thrown some changes in to my routine lately trying to tweek and tighten some stuff up. During my lunch breaks at work, I try to read a training article on elitefts.com (If you haven’t been on their site it is the best place to get FREE training information for all athletes: programs, rehabilitation, technique tips, etc… do yourself a favor and check it out.). This week I have been reading a lot of articles about proper warm-ups or powerlifters and I think I have it dialed in. I have created a warm-up for lower days and one for upper days by mashing together ideas from the articles. I put together a protocol that works for me and so far it is going very well. I have felt thoroughly warmed up and flexible but also retaining specific tightness (I learned that term this week, it means keeping certain muscle chains tight specifically to get a good stretch reflex during a compound lift). Additionally, I have tried to pick up a couple technique tips each day that I have been neglecting and implementing them one at a time. I feel like this will be more effective then reading a 10 page article and trying to implement everything at once. Overall, things are heading in the right direction and I can feel improvements in my squat coming on, its about time.

Leave a Reply

