5/26/15 – Week 5, Day 2 – ME Upper

I am behind on my posts, I know. I hope to get my sets and reps from the last two training days (5/22 & 5/25) uploaded soon just to have them on record. I try to post as soon as possible after my training session just so that it is still fresh in my mind and I can relay any observations I might have but with this past weekend I had the opportunity to catch up with old friends and see the family which was definitely worth it. You didn’t miss much as far as my training goes except for a nice chest pump on Friday from upper body accessory work and a Max Effort squat day yesterday for which I was able to train at Hoffman’s Barbell, an awesome little powerlifting gym in Wheatfield, Indiana. Now that I’m back on the training log bandwagon, what better way to kick things off then a Max Effort bench session with PR’s all around! Today’s training went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Floor Press
    • Bar x15, 135×5, 185×5, 225×3, 275×3, 295×3, 315×3, 335×3, 345×1, 355×1, 365x(missed)
    • 265×5, 305×3, 335×2
  • Close Grip Bench Press
    • 245×8, 255×7, 265×6
  • Dumbbell Floor Press
    • 100×20, 120×20, 140×17
  • Kroc Rows
    • 70×20, 80×20, 90×15, 95×12, 100×12
  • Seated Incline Dumbbell Curls
    • 25×12, 25×10, 30×8
  • EZ Bar Skull Crushers
    • 75×20, 85×17, 95×12, 105×10
  • Ab Rollouts – 3×10

This past weekend I was pleasantly surprised to have multiple people tell me that they enjoy reading my training log. I cannot begin to express how encouraging it is to hear that. I do not keep up this log to brag about accomplishments or show off. On the contrary, the true purpose for this log is for personal record and so that my coach/teammates can give me input on what I’m doing well and not so well. The fact that I have people in my life that truly enjoy seeing my improvement and care about my progress is awesome to me and I cannot thank you enough for encouraging me. Today was an awesome training day for me and it was probably the longest one I have had yet this summer. Two separate times I was pulled aside by family friends who wanted to know where I was at in my training and whatnot. Some lifters hate being pulled aside during a training session and I agree IF it is during a portion of the session which requires great focus and mental preparation. (If you get upset because someone says hi to you in between your bicep and ab movement then your focus is in the wrong place, I’m sorry to tell you.) To me, having those relationships and knowing that I have people that care about my progress encourages me to push that much harder. Thank you all once again, it means more than you know.

Leave a Reply

