5/21/15 – Week 4, Day 3 – DE Lower

Today was a rough day. It was not so much hard at it was frustrating. I will explain in more detail below but for now here was my training for today.

  • Stretch and Warm-up
  • Speed Squat
    • 225x10x2
  • Single Leg Press
    • 200×15, 250×10, 270×8
  • Pull Throughs
    • 120×20, 140×15, 160×10, 160×10
  • Lat Pulldown
    • 110×20, 130×20, 150×12
  • Stir the Pot – 4×20

Notice anything strange about my workout today? If you look you will see there is no deadlifts on this list. “But you always do deadlift on DE Lower day Josh!”, yes yes I know, it was actually supposed to be a deadlift emphasis day. I can’t remember if I mentioned this or not in my post but I tweaked my back doing rack pulls on Monday. Going into today, my back was feeling decent but I knew I needed to make sure I was well stretched and warmed up before moving anything heavy. After a nice long warm up, squats went by very well and I moved into speed deadlifts. As soon as I pulled the slack out of the bar and got it off the floor I knew that pulls would not be happening today if I wanted to walk, upright, out of the gym. Something deep in my lower back is sore, tight and does not like being used to deadlift.

Needless to say, I was not very happy that I had to stop my main movement work early but I took a deep breath and moved on to accessory and supplemental work. I know that I probably could have pushed through my sets of deadlift but I also know that the cost would have been great and it would have taken a toll on my Max Effort squat day on Monday. My conscious was getting after me for stopping early but, with the way things felt, I knew it was for the best and got to my other lifts while the gettin was good.

Knowing the difference between soreness and injury is an important distinction to be able to make..

Leave a Reply

