5/19/15 – Week 4, Day 2 – ME Upper

Training days like today are what make the off-season fun. I hit a great PR on close grip floor press, bumping up my heavy triple max by 20 pounds. During the last training cycle and so far throughout this one, my bench has been improving faster than ever before. My training intensity and volume feels dialed in right now and I’m making great progress.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Close Grip Floor Press
    • Bar x10, 95×5, 135×5, 185×5, 205×3, 225×3, 275×3, 295×3, 315×3 (20lb PR)
    • 225×3, 255×3, 285×3
  • Wide Grip Bench Press
    • 225×10, 245×9, 265×6
  • Incline Dumbbell Press
    • 100×15, 110×15, 120×12
  • Meadow Rows
    • 90×20, 100×15, 100×15, 115×10, 115×10
  • Preacher EZ Bar Curl (vs. EliteFTS Mini Band) – 3×15
  • Tricep Pressdowns (w/ Rope Attachment)
    • 50×20, 60×17, 65×15, 70×12
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 3×20

I am getting used to training after a full work day again. I had forgotten how much harder training is when you are mentally drained, but I’m getting there. The nice part is that, physically, I don’t seem to be having any issues and my energy levels are fine when I have been training. The battle has been all mental and simply requires more focus  and willpower, kind of a “shut up and do it” mentality.

I realized today that I am well over halfway through this training cycle but it feels like yesterday that Ethan and I were discussing what to do for this 6 weeks. It is almost time to start thinking about the next step towards my meet in September! I think that after this six week cycle, I will be using a similar program that my coach is releasing that will help me test my maxes on the three main lifts to see where I stand going into the Fall. After that I will be a downhill sprint towards the meet in September, starting prep six weeks out from that. Oh well, I have time to worry about all that later. For now I’ll just do my best everyday, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

