5/10/15 – Week 3, Day 1 – ME Lower

I made it back to Indiana in one piece after my trip to Columbus this past weekend. I would like to give a shout-out to all the lifters who competed in the Lexen Spring Fling as well as the meet director for putting on a great meet. My coach, Brandon Smitley, hit an easy 450lb bench in the 148lb weight class in his first geared meet. Maybe one day I’ll be able to bench three times my body weight as well! After a long drive home and four days wait, I finally made it back into the gym today to start off the third week of this training cycle.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Front Squat
    • Bar x5, 135×5, 225×3, 315×3
    • 225×3, 255×3, 285×6
  • Paused Squat
    • 225×6, 235×6, 245×6
  • Straight Leg Deadlift
    • 135×12, 185×10, 205×10
  • Band Leg Curls – 4×20 (vs. Mini Band)
  • Weighted Upper Back Raises – 3×10
  • Machine Crunches – 3×10

Today’s training session lacked intensity to say the least. I have forgotten how much different it is to work out alone and control intra-set breaks. At the beginning of today’s session I started going way too fast and not allowing myself ample rest which ended up biting me in the butt. On this day in the last training cycle, I front squatted 365 for a set of three while today I was only able to get 315. I believe that my issue today was a combination of a long weekend, pre-exhaustion, four straight low carb days, and being unprepared mentally for today’s workload. I am not very happy with myself for having such a bad training session. As I have talked about before, one of my focuses in the long term on training is to make as many days positive and successful as possible. That being said, today happened, its over, tomorrow I shall have a chest day to be remembered, I will find a way.

Leave a Reply

