5/6/15 – Week 2, Day 4 – DE Upper

Normally I do not train on Wednesdays, however, due to scheduling conflicts with finals, moving home, and my trip to Ohio, training on Wednesday became my best option. Carbing up hard last night must have done the trick because I felt very good and energetic during my upper body session today. My regular training partner, Ethan Lenn, couldn’t hit it with us today but I was able to train with Tyler Stenger who keeps me on my toes when it comes to bench. Tyler actually beat me on our last set of speed bench, getting 14 reps compared to my 12 reps. (I won’t let him forget that his arms are about 6 inches shorter than mine).

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench (vs. EliteFTS Mini Band)
    • 135x8x3, 165×3, 195×3, 215×12
  • Overhead Press
    • 135×12, 145×12, 155×10
  • Cable Row
    • 140×20, 160×20, 180×16, 200×12, 220×10
  • Seated Lat. Raises
    • 40×10, 50×10, 50×10
  • Dumbbell Skull Crushers
    • 60×20, 70×20, 80×12, 90×10
  • Smith Machine Shrugs
    • 225×10, 245×10, 275×10
  • Reverse EZ Bar Curls
    • 40×10, 50×10, 50×10
  • Ab Wheel Rollouts – 3×10

I noticed today that my weight is starting to creep up. I am trying to take my own advice and not let one weigh in dictate my diet or training but I have not been doing a good job of monitoring my weight or calorie intake lately. I do not plan on doing anything about this just yet but when I see my coach, Brandon Smitley, this weekend I plan on talking to him about my nutrition. As I mentioned a while back, I have relaxed my eating habits slightly so that I can make sure I’m getting plenty of calories and nutrients to grow and gain strength as quickly as possible. I do, however, want to make sure that I am growing in the right way (not just putting on a bunch of fat weight) and staying within prep distance from my 242 weight class this Fall.

Leave a Reply

