5/5/15 – Week 2, Day 3 – DE Lower

It’s Cinco de Mayo!… Honestly, if no one had been posting about it on Snapchat it would have slipped right by without me even noticing. Instead, my day consisted of an exam and banded squats/deadlifts. Tomorrow marks the end of my school year and the beginning of summer break.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. EliteFTS Monster Mini Bands)
    • 205x8x2
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. EliteFTS Mini Bands)
    • 295x6x1, 305×3, 350×3, 395×3
  • Bulgarian Split Squat
    • 70×10, 80×10, 80×10
  • SSB Goodmornings
    • 115×10, 135×10, 145×10
  • Lat. Pulldown (using Row Handle Attachment)
    • 100×20, 115×15, 130×10
  • Ab Pulldowns – 2×10

Today’s training session wore me out beyond belief. I am actually still trying to figure out what I did different today to cause my lack of energy but can’t seem to figure it out. Oh well, my solution currently is to backload harder. Having taken a week off of carb backloading I am going to have to get my intake zoned in again but it will come.

Something that I have had to teach myself and focus on over the years has been to relax and not let one training day, weigh in, or missed lift make me re-evaluate everything I’ve been doing. As much as I hate to say it, there are going to be days when things do not go your way. The key to dealing with this and keeping it to a minimum is to not let it effect you psychologically. I have seen guys in the gym get stapled on a set of squats, tear down the bar, and call it quits for the day neglecting all accessory work. If that is how you react to making a mistake then of course you are going to continue making them down the road. If you give up mentally during a training session then you are just programming yourself to self-destruct every time you have a bad day in the gym.

Leave a Reply

