4/28/15 – Week 1, Day 3 – DE Lower

Back into the speed work today with some back down sets on banded squat. I sorta kinda fell off the Carb-Backloading Wagon over my deload week last week and I am currently punishing myself with a prep week (aka low carb diet all week long). That being said, I am slightly more tired than normal right now during my training sessions but I am not trying to cut or anything so I am getting plenty of calories in.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. EliteFTS Monster Mini Bands)
    • 185x10x2, 190×5, 225×5, 245×7
  • Speed Deadlift (Vs. EliteFTS Average Band)
    • 275x8x1
  • Single Leg Press
    • 390×12, 440×10, 440×8
  • Pull Throughs
    • 80×15, 90×15, 100×10, 110×10
  • Lat Pulldown
    • 140×20, 160×10, 180×10
  • Dumbbell Shrugs
    • 180×10, 200×10, 220×10
  • Fall Outs – 4×10

As I mentioned before, I was a little tired during this session and fatigued rather quickly but overall I felt strong and light during the 10 sets of speed squats. Everything is really coming together with my squat form and I am really zoning in on my groove. I had the pleasure of training with a guy that lives in my house today and let me tell you, he is something else. I have mentioned Tyler before in my posts but I cannot stress enough how good he is going to be when he starts competing. I plan on going to Columbus, Ohio a week from Saturday to watch the club president, Renea, take a shot at an elite total at the Lexen Spring Fling. Tyler will be with me and I hope that seeing what a full on powerlifting meet looks like will light a fire under him to test his potential. Until then, Thursday is more band work with the bench and then we are into finals week here at Purdue. Well, they call it finals week, I call it the week where I can lift whenever I want with no line for the racks.

Leave a Reply

