4/16/15 – Week 6, Day 4 – DE Upper

Today marks the final day of my coaches most recently released program. For those of you that have been following my log since the beginning, the last six weeks seem to have flown by. My plan going forward is to use this coming week as a deload (if you don’t know what that is then please research it and utilize it) and then I will run the new six week program again with different main movements. Overall, I have seen great improvements in the past month and a half and expect the same result in the coming months as we get into summer. I cannot give enough thanks to my coach, Brandon Smitley, for the excellent programs he writes and the assistance he gives to his athletes. He is always there to answer even the smallest questions and I highly recommend him (not to mention he holds a world record in the squat of 565lbs in the 132lb weight class).

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench (vs. EliteFTS Monster Mini Band)
    • 155x6x3, 180×5, 205×3, 230×6
  • Arnold Press
    • 80×15, 90×12, 100×10
  • Wide Cable Row (Using Lat. Pulldown Bar)
    • 100×20, 120×20, 140×20, 160×12, 180×10
  • Cable Lateral Raises
    • 20×12, 25×12, 30×10
  • Dumbbell Overhead Tricep Ext.
    • 65×20, 75×15, 80×10, 85×10
  • Barbell Shrugs
    • 225×15, 275×15, 315×10
  • Reverse EZ Bar Curls
    • 50×8, 60×8, 70×8
  • Partial and Full Situps (On GHR Machine) – 3×15

As some of you know, I have lost a lot of weight and changed my body composition greatly since I was in middle school. For those of you that have no idea what I am talking about, I will put it into perspective. When I was a freshman in high school I weighed 315 and today I weighed in at 248. I was never a terribly lazy kid or inactive but I definitely did not go out of my way to cut weight by any means. I carried the extra weight around well, I wasn’t just an obese blob that couldn’t move, and after lettering in football my freshman year and looking at starting both ways in the coming years I decided that the extra weight was holding me back.

It is amazing how much changing your diet can do for you. I did not know it at the time but in essence I started carb back-loading  without even knowing it. It was actually kind of comical as I read through the CBL bible last summer how many of the weight loss tactics which had been researched and proven were things that I had found to work during my big weight cut. Anyway, with a few small diet changes and the exercise I was getting through football and track training, the weight fell off rather quickly. By the time that football season came around my sophomore year, I weighed around 275 (40lbs lighter) and had gained some muscle mass. This continued throughout my high school career and at the end of my senior year I weighed 255lbs.

I don’t bring up this part of my journey for kicks and giggles but I feel that it’s an important part in knowing why I do things the way I do. Some people struggle gaining weight and mass while others struggle just to keep their weight down. I have never had a problem gaining weight or mass and I don’t have to eat very much to do so. I recently weighed in at 226 in my last meet and currently weigh around 245. I am not a dietitian nor do I like to give nutritional advice to others as I strongly believe we are all very different from a nutritional needs standpoint. What I can say, however, is that after coming off of what was basically a 5 year cut I finally don’t fear gaining weight. My metabolism is higher than ever before and I can finally relax my eating habits to speed up my growth rate. As a disclaimer, when I say “relax my eating habits” I mean take in more good things that benefit my strength goals not a 5 hour twinkie and ho-ho binge. I do not plan on bulking very hard nor do I regret dropping this much body fat but I am happy with where I’m at. My goals and training are much different from that boy that decided to make a life change during his freshman year but my drive has not changed. I could go on forever about my opinions on weight loss, body composition, and training styles but I’ll save that for another entry. For now, have a wonderful weekend and as always if you ever have a question or comment feel free to leave it, thank you for bearing with me through a portion of my story.

Leave a Reply

