4/12/15 – Week 6, Day 2 – ME Upper

We are in the final week of this training program and I have to say, I am ready for my deload week. The rate of progress I have seen over the past 5 1/2 weeks is greater than I have ever seen since I started training. I feel strong(er). I have to give a big shoutout to my coach, Brandon Smitley, for putting my programming together and contributing so much to the Purdue Barbell Club.

  • Warm-Up and Stretch
  • Close Grip Incline Press
    • Bar x5, 135×5, 185×3, 205×3, 225×3, 245×3, 265×1, 275×1
    • 205×5, 235×3, 260×1
  • Wide Grip Bench
    • 205×10, 225×10, 245×8
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench
    • 100×20, 110×15, 120×12
  • Meadow Rows
    • 45×20, 55×20, 65×12, 70×10, 80×10
  • Incline Curls (w/ Fat Gripz)
    • 40×10, 50×10, 60×10
  • Skull Crushers
    • 80×20, 90×12, 90×12, 100×10
  • Weighted Crunches – 3×10

Today marks the end of my Max Effort work for this program. In the past two weeks while hitting heavy singles on my main lifts, I have improved across the board. I hope that nothing I say ever sounds like bragging or that I feel like I’m an elite lifter. If I had a dollar for every guy posting on instagram that he can deadlift 550 or bench 300 I would be a rich man. I want to clarify that when I post on social media or show a video anywhere that it is exclusively there to receive feedback from my coach and technique critiquing. I never post anything to show off how strong I think I am or how good I think I am. As for this training log, I don’t want the reps and sets of the movements I’m performing to be the highlight. I don’t want the main focus of my logs to be a kind of “look what I can squat once” thing. These things are important but unless you are my coach or fellow teammate my guess is you couldn’t care less. I want to write about my experiences on a daily basis and over the course of my lifting career. It is important to be aware of your training sessions and know what works / doesn’t work for you or in general. This is my way of recording and sharing that.

Leave a Reply

