3/24/15 – Week 3, Day 2 – ME Upper

I was once listening to my coach Brandon Smitley talk while on the way to a powerlifting meet and somehow began discussing how often we have “good” and “bad” training days. During this back and forth, Brandon explained a concept which has been in the back of my mind to this day. He said that the success of an average persons lifting sessions look like a bell curve with respect to “good” days and “bad” days, meaning that most of the training sessions are average. The idea that he brought up was about how much better we could become if we were to focus on shifting that curve to the “good” lifting session side and take steps to ensure that every time we step into the gym we are bringing with us our best effort and intensity. Those of you that think mathematically and logistically can see how this would work. I have tried to apply this line of thinking as I hope you will see by reading my training log in order to maximize the progress I am making with my training sessions. That is the difference between lifting and training, purpose.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Incline Bench
    • Bar x5, 135×5, 185×3, 225×3, 235×3, 245×3, 255×3
    • 185×3, 205×3, 235×6
  • Close Grip Bench
    • 195×10, 215×10, 235×6
  • Dumbbell Floor Press
    • 140×16, 150×12, 160×10
  • Bent Over Rows (Swiss Bar)
    • 105×20, 115×20, 125×16, 135×12, 145×10
  • Reverse Grip Curls (EZ Bar)
    • 50×10, 70×8, 70×8
  • Overhead Tricep Extension
    • 60×20, 70×16, 75×12, 80×10
  • Ab Wheel Rollouts – 4×10

I hit a huge gym PR today on my incline bench by getting 255lbs for a set of 3. Incline has always been a lift that I frankly suck at and this progress is very encouraging. It may have taken a few days but I am finally getting back into the swing of school and I think I’m ready to finish these last seven weeks strong. After talking with the other Purdue Barbell Club officers it sounds as though we may try to compete in the World’s Strongest Boiler competition for some fun. If that is the case there may be some farmer’s walk in my future!

Leave a Reply

