3/12/15 – Week 1, Day 3 – Dynamic Effort Lower

It is officially the first day of the year that I can walk around in shorts and a tee shirt. Spring has sprung in Central Indiana and only one more day until spring break. I couldn’t ask for a better day to get in some leg work. On a side note, the workout song of the week is The Pride by Five Finger Death Punch, check it out, maybe you’ll add it to your playlist. Anyway, without further ado…

  • Stretch and Warm-up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Monster Mini Pro Long Bands)
    • 180x10x2, 190×5, 215×5, 245×13
  • Speed Sumo Deadlift (vs. Monster Mini Pro Short Bands)
    • 265x8x1
  • Bulgarian Split Squats
    • 70×10, 70×10, 70×12
  • Cable Pull Throughs
    • 50×20, 60×20, 67.5×15, 75×12
  • Lat Pulldown
    • 120×20, 140×20, 160×11
  • GHR Sit ups (4×12)

Having just over a year of pure powerlifting experience, dynamic work is still a relatively new concept for me with respect to other lifting techniques. The program I am currently running has significantly more dynamic volume especially with the big three lifts which really plays into my needs with building explosiveness out of the hole on my squats. Surprisingly, I woke up this morning with my legs feeling very fresh. This tells me that the volume of lower movements on my max effort days is right on point and, lord willing, will allow me to kill it on my dynamic days. So far I am thoroughly enjoying this program and am very pleased with the work that my coach, Brandon Smitley, has put into this training cycle. For information on my coach or his programming visit http://www.brandonsmitley.com or feel free to leave a comment. If you would like to know about the bands I use or how to get them go to http://www.elitefts.com, I buy EVERYTHING from elite. Good Luck in the tourney Boilers, Hammer Down!

Leave a Reply

